Examining Values – SYL Week 2

So this week we’re looking at values. Not an easy task. I’ve been pondering over this all week, trying to determine what values are important to me etc. I started off by just jotting down values that I felt described me; list looked something like this :

Humanity
Down to earth
Love
Honesty
Kindness
Helpfulness
Selflessness
Fun
Free spirited
Spirituality

I can’t say for certain they are all “values” but it was a starting point. There’s also many more I could potentially add, but that’s just what I started with. I wrote my list then I hit another wall, how do I come up with my top 5?

While I was thinking this over last night I decided on another approach – “what values do I want to pass onto my children?” I figured this would help me identify my top 5, as they would be the ones I’d most like my children to adopt.

The new list:

Humanity
Equality
Family
Individuality
Honesty
Kindness
Helpfulness

So from these two lists, and I know there’s overlaps, I need to find a top 5.

Number 1 – Individuality
Fitting in and conforming to what others want/expect won’t always make you happy! I believe, and want my kids to know that being an individual is OK! I spent a lot of time trying to be something or someone I wasn’t; once I worked out who I was, I was much happier. (even if that means I’m a Country music loving pagan! Lol)

Number 2 – I was going to put Equality, but went with Humanity as I think it encompasses equality a bit.
Even though we are all different, and being an individual is ok, everyone has a right to be treated equally and seen as humans. No matter who you are, where you’re from, level of education etc etc everyone should be able to get the same opportunities and treatment. Yes, I know this is a far from perfect world but if I can teach my kids this, then it’s one step in the right direction!

Number 3 – Kindness
Help out when and where it’s needed, share a smile or a kind word. Not to the point of allowing people to walk all over you, but doing the little things that we so often forget. Saying please and thank you, greeting people you meet not with a grunt, but by name! Acknowledging your neighbours in the street or at the shops.

Number 4 – Honesty
I want my kids to grow up knowing they can be honest with us and tell us things. Even when I was 25 I didn’t feel that I could tell my parents I had a bf because I was afraid of what they’d say. We never really talked about those things much so it was foreign territory for me! I don’t want my kids to feel that way! I also want them to be honest with themselves.

Number 5 – Family
Now, I ummed and arhhed over putting this last on my list for awhile, but these are MY values so shush! Lol. It’s not that I value my family less, it’s more that in my mind, being an individual and knowing yourself is important to gaining a foothold in society. I love my family and they’re important to me, but they’re not my entire world (keep in mind, I’m referring to my parents and sister mostly here. I have no doubt this will change once hubby and I have kids of our own!). I have looked at one of my friends whose family is super close knit and I sometimes wish I’d had that with my parents. But then I realize that if I had, I probably wouldn’t be the woman I am today.

So, there we have it. My top 5 values. Theres every chance they will change, maybe even this week as I Iook over the post again, but for now, that’s them 🙂

2 thoughts on “Examining Values – SYL Week 2

  1. Hi! I’m a new (& shy!) blogger doing the syl challenge too…just wanted to say that I love love love that you included individuality in your values! So important in my life too and it’s only been in the past couple of years that I’ve been able to say “hey this is me, deal with it!”

Leave a Reply

